South India


South India is located in the Peninsular Deccan Highland and is bordered by the Arabian Sea in the West, the Indian Ocean to the south and the Bay of Bengal to the east. South India also includes two mountain ranges; The Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats. The Godavari, Krishna, Kaveri and the Tungabhadra are rivers that flow through South India, being an important source of water for this region. South India comprises of the states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the union territories of Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Puducherry. During its past a number of dynasties ruled over South India.